Summer, Socks, and Startitis

Today has been the hottest day of the year topping out at 102° yet here I am working on wool socks. Really that should say sock since the chance of the second sock ever being knit is slim to none.  Normally I knit socks two at a time, because that is the only way I’ve ever finished a matching pair.  This sock was cast on in haste as I needed a brainless project for a trip I took a few weeks ago.  I was flying half way across the country for my cousin’s wedding and needed a project to take with me.  The projects I had going were either too large or complex for the trip so I went to my old standby- vanilla socks.

Now I had ANOTHER vanilla sock finished from a vacation I took in May.  One might think “Oh, this would be a good time to make that second sock.”, but that is not what went through my brain. Oh no, startitis is something I struggle with daily and when you have a rather large amount of sock yarn sometimes a skein just calls your name.

I can’t be the only one who has a collection of single socks or a collection of sock yarn calling out to you.  Please tell me there are those of you like me that have a drawer full of single socks just waiting for their mate to be made.  Mine might as well give up since I’ve started wearing them mismatched.  They say opposites attract right???

 

 

Leave a Reply

