Build The Life You Want

FullSizeRender

Fiber arts are a big portion of my life and my dream is to one day own  my own little slice of heaven aka a knitting store.  This year I decided to work on a plan to make that dream a reality, but it is still several years off.  I’ve been doing a lot of reading and podcast listening on entrepreneurship and one thing that keeps popping up is build the life you want.  It’s hard for me to set long term goals since I’m an in the moment person and a 5 year plan feels like a lifetime.  I started writing down smalls steps I could take now that would help me achieve my dream and working through TKGA (The Knitting Guild Association) Master Hand Knitting Program is my next step.

I found out about this program in early 2016 while browsing ravelry. I knew it was something I wanted to do, but I wasn’t sure I had the time. I had just went back to work and have 3 active kids so I put it off.  Fast forward a year later- I am now working full time (that yarn shop isn’t going to fund itself!) and still have 3 busy kids, but I feel like it’s the right time to take this on.

You are given 12 months to complete the first level of the program. Level 1 consists of writing a report on the blocking of hand knits, 19 swatches (now is the time to tell you I really don’t like swatching), filling out some worksheets, answering 20+ questions, and making a mitten.  Once you finish all this you put it all into a portfolio and off it goes to The Committee ( a group of volunteers who have already received the Master Hand Knitter title).  There all your work gets reviewed and feedback is given. If you have an item(s) that didn’t pass inspection you are given the chance to resubmit it within the cost of the program.  If you need to resubmit items multiple times you have to pay the shipping. Hopefully, I can pass on the first go round, but I am always learning new things with every project I take on so we will see.

If you want to learn more about the TKGA Master Hand Knitting program head over to TKGA or to the ravelry group.

 

 

Leave a Reply

