St. Louis Yarn Crawl

2 weekends ago I had the luxury of going on

the St. Louis yarn crawl with 3 great friends. You printed out a passport that you turned in at the end and they drew names for door prizes! With each stop they stamped the passport and gave out a free pattern.

Our first stop was Weaving Department/Myers House.  As soon as we pulled up I was in love! The house was built in 1867 and has amazing charm.  If you want to learn more about it you can click here.  The yarn store has the whole bottom floor of this house and room upon room of yarn, spinning wheels, roving, and weaving materials.  I had no idea this little jewel existed and it goes on my list to stop at when I am out that way. I purchased a set of Knitters Pride double pointed needles and a skein of sock yarn while I was there.

Next we went to Kirkwood Knittery. This was a small store with a nice button assortment and some super cute locally made stitch markers.  While the yarn selection was sparse I did snatch up some very cute elephant stitch markers.  

After our stop there it was time for lunch. We decided to go to Mellow Mushroom. The one in Kirkwood has a great outdoor space where we ate and even found a sculpture of "yarn balls".  

After lunch we made our way to Knitorious (one of my favorite places!) and they were giving away free Ted Drewes to all the "crawlers".  I only picked up a skein of the yarn I needed to swatch the Ashland pullover since they didn't have my order in yet.

We still had 2 more places to hit before our day was over and we went to HearthStone Knits next.  I found some amazingly soft chenille yarn (Sirdar Smudge) in a gorgeous cream color that I picked up to make a baby blanket with.  I have 4 babies to knit for and 2 have already been born! The last place we went was The Bead Place. They have a bead store in front and a yarn room in back.  I found some scrumptious Frabjous Fibers roving there that went home with me.

This was my first time doing a yarn crawl and had an amazing time doing it.  I will definitely be attending next years! Oh, and the little blonde in the blue (who always wins something wherever we go!) won one of the prizes from The Bead Place!

 

Leave a Reply

